The Illinois Government Bar Association

Founded 1987Serving the Interests of Lawyers Dedicated to Government Service

Members and History

The GBA Directory

Please feel free to view our FY 2015 Directory.  It may not contain some late registrations received after December 1, 2014.  The FY 2016 Directory is expected to be posted in December of 2015.

GBA FY2015 Directory

History of the Government Bar Association

In October 1987, a small group of Illinois government attorneys began meeting to discuss the formation of an organization that would be dedicated to the advancement of the professional interests of attorneys in or involved with state, federal or local government practices.  From these meetings, the Illinois Government Bar Association evolved.

The Government Bar Association's goal was to provide an independent bar that would be dedicated to the professional enhancement and development of government attorneys.  The GBA hoped to accomplish this goal through continuing education, newsletters, luncheons, networking, both professionally and socially, and through the awarding of scholarships to law students at Illinois law schools.
In 2013, there were over 120 members and the GBA has awarded scholarships for the past 7 years.  The membership has expanded to include not only attorneys who work directly for a government entity, but also attorneys in private practice who deal with government issues as part of their practice.  This diverse group of attorneys provides the unique perspective to address issues and provide leadership to our respective agencies and community.

Past Presidents of the GBA

George Tinkham 1987 - 1989
Stephen Rotello 1989 - 1991
Marc Loro 1991 - 1992
Robert John Kane                  1992 - 1993
Carolyn Grosboll 1993 - 1994
Lynn Patton 1994 - 1996
Edward J. Schoenbaum    1996 - 1997
John Pavlou 1997 - 1999
Nora Crandall   1999 - 2000
Stephen Wilson 2000 - 2002
George Tinkham 2002 - 2003
Arden Lang 2003 - 2005
Keleigh Biggins 2005 - 2006
Heidi Scott 2006 - 2007
Edward J. Schoenbaum 2007 - 2009
Robert Patino      2009 - 2011
Frank Martinez 2011 - 2013
Mike Delcomyn 2013 - 2015
Joe McMenamin 2015 - 2017
Joanna Gunderson                 2017- Present

Website Builder